India Pakistan Cricket series - Special Coverage



India ask Pakistan to bat in third test




RAWALPINDI, April 13 - India captain Saurav Ganguly won the toss and put Pakistan in to bat on a green top wicket in the deciding third and final test on Tuesday. There is plenty of grass on the wicket that is expected to help seamers early on.

Ganguly returned to the Indian team after missing the first two tests due to a back injury sustained in last month's fifth one-day international. It is still unclear who would open the Indian innings, with Ganguly hinting he may do the job "for this one time". India have made two changes from the side that lost the last test, dropping opener Aakash Chopra to accommodate Ganguly and bringing in left-arm paceman Ashish Nehra for medium-pacer Ajit Agarkar.

Pakistan replaced injured seamer Umar Gul, man-of-the-match in their nine-wicket win at Lahore last week, with medium-pacer Fazl-e-Akbar. Paceman Mohammad Sami, who was struggling with back pain, was declared fit for the match. Pakistan's young top order comprising of Taufeeq Umer, Imran Farhat and Yasir Hameed will be looking to make their mark in seamer friendly conditions.

India won the first test in Multan by an innings and 52 runs before Pakistan hit back to level the series.


India: Saurav Ganguly (captain), Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Vangipurappu Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Parthiv Patel, Irfan Pathan, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Anil Kumble, Ashish Nehra.

Pakistan: Inzamam-ul-Haq (captain), Imran Farhat, Taufeeq Umar, Yasir Hameed, Yousuf Youhana, Asim Kamal, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Sami, Shoaib Akhtar, Danish Kaneria, Fazl-e-Akbar.